The Heart’s Appeal (London Beginnings #2)

Title:The Heart’s Appeal (London Beginnings #2)
Author: Jennifer Delamere
Pages: 384
Year: 2018
Publisher: Bethany
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
The London Beginning series begins with the novel titled, The Captain’s Daughter.Here, in the second book, readers get to focus on the middle sister, Julia, whose hope is to become a physician and go to Africa as a missionary.The year is 1881 and in London women were to be home or if they wanted to do some work, there were few opportunities.Julia is attending a school that helps women become prepared to practice medicine as a physician at a time when that field was dominated by men.Women could become nurses and even a midwife, but becoming a doctor took perseverance and hard work.
Julia was raised with her other sisters in Bristol at the George Mueller orphanage where needs were met by asking only one Person…God.Julia is asking God to provide the means for her to attend school and practice medicine, though Julia originally thought that being married w…

First Steps in Messianic Jewish Prayer

Title:First Steps in Messianic Jewish Prayer
Author: Aaron Eby
Pages: 168
Year: 2014
Publisher: First Fruits of Zion
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
I am not Jewish, so why read a book of this nature?People read books of various subjects for many reasons.For me, I read the book because I want to grow in understanding the Jewish people and prayer.I have done a couple of online courses with this ministry, First Fruits of Zion, and like their approach of reaching other Jewish people and those who want to know more about the Messiah, Yeshua.
I used the book like a devotional, reading small sections and then meditating on what I had read.I found a new understanding and depth to approaching God in prayer that defies description.My prayer life is no longer stale or just reciting prayers without being engaged.I came away with a big appreciation for the Messianic Jewish Ministry teaching me through this book, which offers a totally different approach to my time alone with God.
Perhaps some will be able…

If I live (If I Run Series Book #3)

Title:If I live (If I Run Series Book #3)
Author: Terri Blackstock
Pages: 352
Year: 2018
Publisher: Zondervan
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
In the third and final novel, audiences get a thrilling conclusion to the characters of Casey Cox, Dylan Roberts, and Detective Keegan just to name a few.Casey has been running for a long time to avoid being arrested for a series of crimes.Dylan has been hired by the parents of Brent Pace to apprehend her for his murder and other infractions of the law.However, since the first book, Casey has amassed a lot of evidence to prove who the real culprits are behind Brent’s murder and others as well.
The hard part is that while Casey has been on the run and while Dylan is trying to clear her name, those who committed the murders are also closing in on Casey.Casey’s character is one of not just surviving but also seeing that justice is done.What Casey is learning is the difference between obtaining justice her way or letting go to let God do it His way, as well…

His Risk (The Amish of Hart County #4)

Title:His Risk (The Amish of Hart County #4)
Author:Shelley Shepard Gray
Pages:266 (ARC)
Publisher: Avon Inspire
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
Calvin Fisher has left the Amish faith after a terrible childhood.His older brother, Mark, was the one who raised him.At the age of 14 Calvin left Horse Cave, Kentucky and began a descent into a life of alcohol and drugs.Now, he has cleaned up his act.He works for the DEA as an informant in exchange for them paying debts he owed to a gang.Calvin is still a member of the gang, but he secretly reports information to the DEA.The only way out of the gang is death, so Calvin knows he has a dim future and short life ahead of him.He has kept his distance from his brother in the past, but recently they had somewhat of a reconciliation.He doesn’t want Mark or Mark’s wife to become a potential target for the gang, so he stays away.
Calvin receives a telephone call from his sister-in-law telling him Mark is very sick with kidney cancer and she needs C…

The Pirate Bride (The Daughters of the Mayflower #2)

Title:The Pirate Bride (The Daughters of the Mayflower #2)
Author: Kathleen Y’Barbo
Pages: 256
Year: 2018
Publisher: Barbour
My rating 5+ out of 5 stars.
What a fun story to read!I sat and read it in one night and thoroughly enjoyed myself.There is mystery and danger, intrigue and drama; yet, there are some parts of the story that are just comical.Maribel is a young girl who wants to be a privateer.As she reads about these men in books, the sense of adventure just speaks to her heart.Maribel is a character who bucks what is expected of her or even the mold others want to place her in.
Maribel experiences many different and dangerous moments she didn’t sign up for, but she is determined nonetheless.She is raised in a convent and becomes a teacher, but there is still a part of her that longs to escape into a book without being bothered.What I laughed about was the place she chooses to read her books and how others react to her choice!
Towards the end of the story the author throws a twist in th…

Stalking Season

Title:  Stalking Season (Smoky Mountain Secrets)
Author:  Sandra Robbins
Pages:  224
Year:  2016
Publisher:  Love Inspired Suspense
My rating is 5 stars.
In A Killer’s Sights is also part of the Smoky Mountain series for those who like to know if there are other novels in a series like I do.  As I read Stalking Season, it quickly became apparent the affects the stalker was having on the main character, Cheyenne Cassidy.  Cheyenne is a trick rider on horses and recently lost her parents in a car accident, or was it really an accident?  Cheyenne is now employed by Bill Johnson’s Smoky Mountain Wild West Christmas Show along with her trained horse named Patches.
However, before the first show, the stalker makes his presence known while Cheyenne is in a store scaring the daylights out of her.  When she runs out of the store, she is hit by a police car.  From this point forward, the police and Cheyenne are trying to figure out who is stalking her.  The only clue they have is that he calls himsel…

Lady Jayne Disappears

Title:Lady Jayne Disappears
Author:Joanna Davidson Politano
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
Aurelie Harcourt is a young woman on a mission to find her missing mother.Aurelie has grown up with her father in a debtor’s prison cell.Her father amassed so many debts and with an inability to pay them was sentenced to debtor’s prison.Her father has a wonderful gift for telling stories.Aurelie has learned his skill well and can tell fantastic stories in her own right.Aurelie has acted as a transcriber for her father, writing down stories under the pen name Nathaniel Droll.The public has gone wild for these stories as well as trying to discover the real identity of Nathaniel Droll.Aurelie that must now navigate a world in which she is totally unfamiliar…the aristocracy.Her father has died, leaving Aurelie homeless.She has no debts, so can’t stay in debtor’s prison.Her brother was an aristocrat, but cut off from his family.His older sister is the only relative Aurelie knows about …